Shop Updates

Romantic beachy OOAK polymer clay necklace

I am not an individual that can design from sketches, so I wasn’t sure of  how I wanted the finished necklace to look. I fashioned the oval cabochon of the focal piece using a slice from my Golden Beach Collection Mokume Gane block. Mokume Gane is a metal working technique originally developed in Japan that has been adapted to the polymer clay world. It also happens to be one of my favorite ways to manipulate clay.I used white,deep blue,turquoise,transparent,ecru and gold polymer clay in this block. The process involves carefully selecting a color palette and then laying one sheet of color on top of another. Once you have created a stack a variety of tools are used to create lacerations, holes,dents, and cuts. Possibilities are endless. When you have texturized to your desired level, you carefully slice paper thin layers of the block exposing the insane-ness of the random beauty you have just created.

I once considered my inability to pre sketch as a fault or downfall, then I decided to embrace this layer of myself. I placed the cabochon on a blank sheet of ecru clay, tuned into one of my favorite Iheartradio stations and I began to create.

I used a home made mold for the seashell, and created the rest freehand as I went along. I embellished the organic shaped connector with a bleached white, freshwater cultured pearl.I slightly antiqued the focal piece and connector using burnt umber acrylic paint.  I hung them from dark brown ceramic beads along with bronze toned caps and the large focal piece features a dangle made from a dark brown ceramic bead and cap.

Click the photos to see full size


I am extremely content with the way this piece turned out and I feel it embodies everything I envision when I consider a day at the beach here in Florida. This OOAK handmade creation is for sale in my Etsy Shop.

To create this piece I used Sculpey Clay that I purchased with my own money. Start creating today, you can  Grab Sculpey clay here

Leave a comment